NettieMae

A Brighter Day

Should You Get a Job or Start a Business?

on January 4, 2013

home_office

With unemployment at all time highs in many areas of the United States, finding a job might not be that easy. One that will support a family anyway. So you might find yourself wondering if maybe you should start your own business and, if so, which one?  Today we will explore what to expect when deciding if you should get a job or start your own home-based business. For most people just starting out, I would recommend doing both.

First let’s define what I mean by a “job”.  A job, for the purposes of this blog, is anything you do for someone else that you get paid to do – like working at McDonald’s or working in a factory making drive chain for tractors. I’ve done both! At a job, you have no control over how things are done. You don’t get to make any major decisions. You just show up, do what they told you to do, go home and get a paycheck every week or two. You have no control over your wages either. Your wages are what they are. You might be lucky enough to get a raise once a year or so but unless you are willing to work more hours – when they are available – or get a second job, there is really no way to make more money when you really need it.

One of things I plan to discuss in another blog post is getting a job online, and yes it can be done.  There are many companies that are willing to let their employees work from home. I spent 5 years as a customer service rep for a cable company and then a cell phone company.  You get paid an hourly wage just like you would if you actually went to their facility and worked. You put your 8 hours in, get your breaks and get paid every week the same as if you actually showed up at their office and took calls.  Once again, tho, the only way to make more money is to work more hours or get a second job.

The other option is start a home-based business.  For the purpose of this blog, a home-based business involves joining an MLM or network marketing business that is already established. Yes, you could actually start a business such as babysitting or house cleaning or maybe there is something that you do really well that others would pay you to do and you could do that from home.  But once again you run into the issue that the only way to make more money is to work more hours or get a second job.  The beauty of network marketing is that you work hard, help other people and as your business grows so does your paycheck.  After a few years of hard work, much of your paycheck comes from the work of other people and you can end up working fewer hours and actually enjoying yourself instead of working more hours or getting another job.

If you work your home-based business like it’s a second job, keeping regular hours and doing the work that needs to be done, in 1-3 years you will be able to quit your job and just continue to build your business.  In 5-7 years you will have a team built that will allow you to live the good life.  Get a job for the short-term and start a home-based business you can build for long-term success.

7 responses to “Should You Get a Job or Start a Business?

  1. Buddy Hodges says:

    Hi NettieMae, I love your image at the top of this post. It is similar to the view I have in my home office, which has windows, next to the coral fireplace, facing the park and the lake. I have chosen the self-employment path for the past several decades. In 1973, I left college teaching and, as Robert Frost wrote, “two paths diverged; I took the one less traveled by — and that has made all the difference.”

    Although I have endured many challenges and much sacrifice, I would not trade the FREEDOM I have for the more traditional path. As Frank Sinatra sang, I did it my way…Oh, there were times,,,when I bit off more than I could chew; I ate it up and spit it out…and did it my way!”

    It has been difficult at times, and most people would not be willing to make the sacrifices I made. There have been a few times when I had to take a job temporarily out of necessity. At those times, despite my advanced degrees, I chose menial labor jobs (like dishwasher) or a night watchman supervisor job, so that I only rented my body and not my mind.

    As a “Professional” college professor and management consultant, the MOST I earned by the hour was about $100. to $200. (in today’s inflated dollars). As the owner of an MLM distributorship I built up to the point where I was earning about that much in passive residual income, whether or not I continued to work.

    But money was not the best part. Friendships and business relationships are the second best part, and FREEDOM is the best part! Most of them time I do what I want, when I want, with whom I want, for as long as I want… I LOVE my freedom!

    • NettieMae says:

      Hi Buddy – sounds like you have done really well. I think working at home is the best ever and, for me as well, it’s not about the money but about the relationships I have built and the people I have helped along the way.

  2. annettapowellonline says:

    Great tips here Nettie! Glad to hear that you are doing great with your “home-based job”.

  3. Nettie great post that definitely help a person make a decision regarding working from home.

  4. Nettie,
    To put it in a nutshell your picture of that home office really relates to your post. That image of staying home versus going out in all kinds of weather, for a job is a no brainer for me! The internet marketing world not only can make you financially free, but the people you meet become a great support system and even good friends.
    Donna

  5. Karen De Groote says:

    Great article NettieMae! I am at a crossroads myself so will contemplate all you have written. I currently go to college online which has helped me beyond measure work towards finishing my degree. It took a lot of reorganizing of my day but it is well worth it. I suspect working from home would require the same daily reorganization.

    Have a super 2013~!
    Karen

  6. Emz says:

    Hi Nettie first of all the picture looks great I want to have that kind of computer. If i am to decided which I will choose? I will definitely choose getting myself a job. I mean for starters like me yu have to start earning money first before you start a bussiness right? So I think I would get a job then start bussiness. I have been working home based for more than 4 years now. Your article is very well written. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

